The Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research (ISSN-1414-431X) is published only in electronic version and is an open-access, anonymous peer-reviewed journal published monthly by the Associação Brasileira de Divulgação Científica (ABDC) a Federation of Brazilian Scientific Societies. 

The Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research is edited at the Campus of Ribeirão Preto, School of Medicine of Ribeirão Preto, University of São Paulo.

The publication of the Journal is partially financed by CNPq (Conselho Nacional de Desenvolvimento Científico e Tecnológico), MCT (Ministério da Ciência e Tecnologia), CAPES (Coordenação de Pessoal de Nivel Superior), ME (Ministério de Educação).

The articles of the Journal are published online continuously in monthly issues. All research articles published by the Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research since 1997 are available at and The Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research articles are tracked by PubMed, PubMed Central, ISI Knowledge, and Scopus.

The Journal is indexed by all major indexing services, including Web of Knowledge and PubMed. The Journal applies the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY) to all works published. Under the CC BY, authors retain ownership of the copyright for their article, but authors allow anyone to download, reuse, reprint, modify, distribute, and/or copy articles in Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research, so long as the original authors and source are cited. No permission is required from the authors or the publishers.




On September 20, 1980 in the city of Ribeirão Preto, with the idea of constructing an entity with the objective to disseminate Brazilian scientific research at the University level, a group of professors met with Prof. Dr. Eduardo Moacyr Krieger as President. This group included Dr. Sérgio Henrique Ferreira as Secretary, Professors Antonio Carlos Martins de Camargo and Lewis Joel Greene, and representatives of the Brazilian Societies of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, Biophysics, Biochemistry, Physiology, and Clinical Investigation. These professors created the Associação Brasileira de Divulgação Científica (ABDC) as a nonprofit organization of scientists committed to making the world’s scientific and medical literature a public resource.


Actually the following Societies compound the ABDC:  Sociedade Brasileira de Biofísica, Sociedade Brasileira de Bioquímica e Biologia Molecular, Sociedade Brasileira de Farmacologia e Terapêutica Experimental, Sociedade Brasileira de Fisiologia, Sociedade Brasileira de Imunologia, Sociedade Brasileira de Investigação Clínica, Sociedade Brasileira de Neurociências e Comportamento, Sociedade Brasileira de Biologia Celular.


On October 9, 1980, with the presence of Prof. Michel Jamra, the responsibility of the already existing Brazilian Journal of Medical and Biological Research was transferred to ABDC.


The following professors served on the Executive Board of ABDC and as Editors of this Journal.

  1980 – 2002: Eduardo Moacyr Krieger, Sérgio Henrique Ferreira and Lewis Joel Greene
2002 – 2006: Marco Antonio Zago, Lewis Joel Greene and João Batista Calixto
2006 – 2012: Lewis Joel Greene, José Antunes Rodrigues and João Batista Calixto
2012 – 2016: Lewis Joel Greene, Eduardo Magalhães Rego, Giles Alexander Rae
2016 – 2020: Eduardo Magalhães Rego, João Pereira Leite, Isabela Judith Martins Bensenor